George Berlin’s Art Blog

Delving into the mind of one of those weird artist people

Police and Fire Rescue Vehicle sketches (part 1)

Posted by eyeofthehurricane99 on January 20, 2009

Here’s some police and fire vehicle sketches I’ve been working on lately, in this cool new
tiny sketchbook that my (future) bro-in-law got me for Xmas!

First-a little background.I’m working on getting into art licensing.

Essentially, this is designing “collections” to license (basically, selling the
rights for a manufacturer to put them on products like paper plates, wrapping paper,
blankets, etc for a certain product for a certain amount of time)

One of the many I’m working on is these little kiddie fire and police rescue vehicles.
C’mon, you know you want one on your lunchbox, right?

Police and Fire Rescue Sketches
These are sketches of the fire and police car- I’ve got a few hundred sketches of their
development, but I’ll try not to bore you to tears with those. I’m going for a short stumpy
rounded look to everything- with really high “readability”

Police Helicopter  sketches

These are some of my early Police Helicopter drawings. Real police choppers
aren’t very cute, I found. I wanted a sort of bulbous look, with big pontoon
style “feet” and a shorter tail. Sort of a weird mechanical hummingbird.

I ended up modeling a lot of things in this collection after toys of the real thing.

This final helicopter below was inspired a great deal by, of all things, those little
helicopter rides you see out in front of the supermarket where you put in 25 cents
and it goes up and down for three minutes.

Which I LOVED as a kid. I just get stuck in them now. Darn.

Police Helicopter sketch
The one on the right is just the one on the left with a little more “stuff” that says
“Police chopper” to the untrained eye (and by “untrained” I mean a 3 year old’s).

More vehicle sketches (and some of the collection together) in the next post.

Leave a Reply

 
