George Berlin’s Art Blog

Delving into the mind of one of those weird artist people

Police and Fire Rescue Vehicles sketches (part 3)

Posted by eyeofthehurricane99 on January 22, 2009

Here’s some of the Police and Fire Rescue Vehicles sketches I posted earlier-
but in finished form:

Police and Fire Rescue Vehicles art George Berlin helicopter
This one’s my personal favorite!

I really like the big windows (modeled after those 25 cent supermarket rides)
because they imply big-headed occupants, which is always funny to me.

That and the siren lights on the front really toot my horn for some reason (though my
girlie likes them because she thinks that red one looks rather like a Rudolph-style nose).

Here’s the police bike:

Motorcycle Police and Fire Rescue Vehicles art George Berlin
I can hear the CHiPs theme already. I was a bit worried that the seat looked like a random
loaf of fancy French bread sitting there, but I think it adds some much-needed organic-y shape
to an otherwise purely round and curvaceous form.

Last, and definitely not least, here’s the police car which started all of this:

Police Car and Fire Rescue Vehicles art George Berlin

It’s actually based on a the design I started for the antagonist’s car in my forthcoming short
“The Bee’s Knees,” which I’ll be talking about on here in a bit. Look for those entries in
a week or so..

I really like the blobby, exaggerated look to all of these and the huge sirens and
stylized shields on them all.

I’m still working on the firetruck– it’s a bit of a special spot for me so I want it to be just right.
It’s kind of rough making a vehicle that’s known as really elongated into a short, stumpy thing.

I almost forgot to mention- these were painted digitally (with Painter) . Could you tell?

2 Responses to “Police and Fire Rescue Vehicles sketches (part 3)”

  1. Susan Sanders said

    Love the drawings! No, I couldn’t tell they were drawn with Painter. It reminds me of the cars in the movie “Cars.” They look really cool! Love your art! Love, Susie

  2. Eye of the Hurricane said

    Now if I can only make as much $$ on them as they did with the movie “Cars”…now we’re talkin’…

Leave a Reply

 
