George Berlin’s Art Blog

Delving into the mind of one of those weird artist people

“Lullaby” my film festival debut! (part 1)

Posted by eyeofthehurricane99 on January 23, 2009

Here’s my film “Lullaby” which showed in the Chicago International Children’s Film
Festival back at the end of October 2008.

Now, for a little info about it. Because I’m sure after watching it you’re thinking- hey, where the heck
did THAT weird thing come from?

My darlin’ Marie and I went to Ravinia way back in the summer of 2007 to go see LadySmith Black Mambazo
this really awesome African acapella group. Very nice. They had Sweet Honey in the Rock opening for them.
Oddly enough LadySmith Black Mambazo is the all MALE ensemble, and Sweet Honey in the Rock is the
all FEMALE ensemble. Huh.

Anyway, the dudes did this cool “sound poem” if you will of their impressions of a night in the jungle. Just ticks
and whooshs and pops and bug noises and stuff. I really liked it, laying on my back on a cool night in the grassy
knolls of the ‘burbs with my darlin’.

Then a week or so later, while working away the day animating kid’s educational art videos (my day job),
somebody at the office put on some funky world music that I was really digging. It was a little more
clicky and poppy and dingy than the concert and I thought, hey, I could make a bunch of goofy noises like that!

So anyway, at some point in the next few weeks, it was 2 in the morning (don’t things like this always start then?)
and I recorded the silly song you here in the film. One boink at a time, once each sound and then
I sequenced it to make what you hear.

I got the idea while scoring the piece that the story would be like when we were all kids and going to sleep
was a punishment worse than death. You know how it was. You’d rather read comics or sing songs or just
play under the blanket with your action figures than go to sleep.

This film was made in about a week (for the animation) and maybe another week or two for the music, credits, etc.

Whaddya think?

Leave a Reply

 
