George Berlin’s Art Blog

Delving into the mind of one of those weird artist people

“The Bee’s Knees” my next short animated film (part 1 of a bazillion)

Posted by eyeofthehurricane99 on January 25, 2009

So, due to the smashing success of my previous foray into short animation for kiddies, “Lullaby”,
I’ve decided to work on a new film called “The Bee’s Knees.”

The idea got started based on this painting of mine:


Which, in turn, was based on the design of a pair of scrubs I saw a nurse wearing

at the Chicago Ave. ‘L” train stop. Funny how that inspiration thing works, eh?

Anyhoo, it’s your typical boy-meets-girl story. Although here, it’s more like a
bee-meets-flower story.

This painting got me thinking, y’know, I guess when you’re a bee, the flowers
are all sort of like girls. Here’s a drawing of their first meeting. She’s going to
be the flower to beat all flowers. How can he resist?


As you can see, while all of my computery work animation stuff is cooking up
on the machine, I tend to do a bit of doodling. I like to doodle a bit at a time- beats
sitting down at the ol’ drawing board and saying, okay- time to get inspired!

He’s singing her a song here because, well, it’s classic film wooing technique.
I figure his voice in this film will be entirely kazoo.

Then there’s the kids:

What? They just met and they got kids already?!? These will show during the
final credits- to imply that everything worked out in the end (standard cartoon
resolution, I think…) Oh yeah, you can see the ‘confidential’ tag on the corner
from some ad agency email I doodled this on. Hehe.

This last little guy is my favorite.

Long story behind him. You see, I was trying to think of a song that he could
sing to her when they first meet and I said, duh how about that song “Daisy”?
(she IS a daisy after all) Which, it turns out, is also known as “A Bicycle built
for two.”

So I figure during the credits the bee and the flower can ride through on
a bicycle built for two, with this little guy trailing behind, and maybe a few kids on
bigger bikes, or one of those thingies that attaches a kid bike to a grown-up bike.

And he’ll definitely ring his little bell when he goes through.

: )

There’s a bazillion more parts to this… I have pages and pages of sketches.
And I haven’t even started the actual film yet!

2 Responses to ““The Bee’s Knees” my next short animated film (part 1 of a bazillion)”

  1. Lindsay said

    This looks like it’s going to be great George! Can’t wait to see it. The lined paper drawing reminds me of when we’d pass the pad back and forth during renders. I think I still have our creations sitting around somewhere.

  2. Eye of the Hurricane said

    Why thank ya, ma’am!Yes, I believe these are, in fact, drawn on some of the very same pads in the very same place, good ol’ HiRoad Productions.If computers ever get so fast that they can do whatever we ask them to immediately- man I’m gonna need to find a new time to doodle!

Leave a Reply

 
