George Berlin’s Art Blog

Delving into the mind of one of those weird artist people

Character Design: Kids! (part 1)

Posted by eyeofthehurricane99 on February 24, 2009

So, last time I showed you some new character designs of little babies…

…that I’m working on to get into doing some illustration.

Now, we move up the age range a bit into little kids (and a few older ones):

Childrens illustration George Berlin animation art

This was one of my first drawings. I like the feel, but the kids are a bit too stumpy here. But cute!

Next- the sandbox!

Childrens illustration George Berlin animation art

I loved the sandbox as a kid. Playing in dirt- does it get any better?

I like the short story in the upper left of the little boy giving the other boy who hurt his hand a toy truck to play with. Kids can be nice, sometimes…

Childrens illustration George Berlin animation art

This is a slightly longer kid riding a skateboard. I like the proportion here.

I also put him in that shirt with the ” ! ” on it to give him a little more modern look to his clothes. I put some of the other boys in little shirts with collars and buttons, and they looked a bit too much like Little Lord Fontleroy the dandy, playing in the sand on his family’s manner.

Next time- more kids!

Leave a Reply

 
