George Berlin’s Art Blog

Delving into the mind of one of those weird artist people

Anybody out there? (let me know…)

Posted by eyeofthehurricane99 on March 12, 2009

Just a quick post- is anyone actually reading this blog?

If so, leave me a comment and let me know that you’re following the mad adventures of the crazy animator and kiddie artist…and maybe how you found it, etc.

A few billion more posts on drawing starting tomorrow morning (the 13th). I’ve been really swamped with work – a good thing in this economy.

Thanks!

12 Responses to “Anybody out there? (let me know…)”

  1. mntornado said

    Hi George,
    I just noticed your blog. So I guess you can say you have at least one reader. I’ll have to have a look around and see what you have here. The first thing that stands out is the bright purple text. My son loves this color.

    • eyeofthehurricane99 said

      Thanks for checking it out!

      I have a few fans I know check it out here and there, but it’s nice to see others enjoying it, too.

      You know, you’d be amazed at how many times people tell me “… why my son really likes (fill in the blank with something I really enjoy) a lot too! I really dig your weather page- it’s all such mysterious stuff.

      Wanna trade links?

  2. MNTornado said

    Wanna trade links?

    I’m not quite sure what you mean by trade links. If you mean put each others URL’s in our blogrolls, my answer is by all means. Otherwise please explain.
    I’m still learning some of the ins and outs of WP. It uses features that I’ve never used before like this thing called RSS feeds. As far as enjoying other peoples art, I do so because of my own background with art and drafting. I’m not a professional artist, because I chose a different career to go into. But I also have talents in art that I’ve not really explored to any depth. I used to do a lot of doodling and simple pencil art back in my high school days. Boy is that ancient history. I do have training in Mechanical Drafting and Design as well as my chosen profession of Electronics. Most people do not realize the art comes into play in many other professions not commonly associate with art. I don’t have to level of skill I see demonstrated in your work, but then I suspect you probably use one of the many new digital art tools to do your work. It might even be one that I’ve run into as there are tools created by companies that primarily are Drafting Software companies. I’m seeing that some of these tools are being used in the digital arts field also. One of these products that I’m familiar with is Autodesk 3DS Max also known as 3D Studio. Have you ever heard of it or used it? I hear that it even gets used by some game development people.

    • eyeofthehurricane99 said

      Absolutely I know 3D Studio Max- that’s what I used to do some of my 3D stuff in this post here… Candy Bars and Moths

      I’ve been using that for animation for years! A mighty fine too it is.

      We have a bit more in common than you’d think…

      I’ll add your link shortly, feel free to add mine.

      Thanks a bunch and stop by again.

  3. Ms. SP said

    I’m reading. I found this blog by knowing the artists and inspiring him with my own super cool blog. 🙂

  4. Michele aka griot said

    I read it – sporadically. I’m always so busy that when I get a little down time, I end up reading a week or two worth of entries at one time. Which is kind of cool, because I don’t have to wait quite so long for ‘part 2’.

    • eyeofthehurricane99 said

      Garsh, I’m almost half of 1% of the way to moderately famous at this point!

      Just a spoonful of sugar…

  5. MNTornado said

    Last time I went out to the Autodesk website, I discovered that they have a new graphics program called Maya. I’m not familiar with it though I think that I have heard of it some where. Have you ever worked with it?

    • eyeofthehurricane99 said

      Maya is the slightly higher-end competitor of 3D Studio Max that Autodesk acquired a few years ago…
      use a lot for feature films (Gollum in “The Hobbit”). It’s been around for some time.

      It’s quite awesome, but uses a different modeling paradigm (curves vs. polygons) so it’s a horse of a different color, if you will…

  6. mntornado said

    I have to wonder if higher end also means that you need a higher end computer to run it. I’m amazed at how fast the world of graphics and animation has grown. And to think that George Lucas was the one to give it the kick start that it needed to grow. Impressive!!!

    • eyeofthehurricane99 said

      Maya needs about the same computer as 3D Studio Max.

      Lucas had vision, for sure. Mind you, he forgot how to write a good trilogy twenty years later, but that’s a whole other blog right there….

Leave a Reply

 
