George Berlin’s Art Blog

Delving into the mind of one of those weird artist people

What do you wanna be when you grow up (part 2 of Many!)

Posted by eyeofthehurricane99 on March 14, 2009

So I started with a few icons of youth here…

Now we continue with the ‘What do you wanna be when you grow up?” series.

These two are kind of funny- it’s one thing I wanted to be as a kid and one I never dreamt of being (but I am now!)

Blacksmith Upright bassist cartoon George Berlin animation art

Yes, ladies and germs,  I once dreamt of being a blacksmith. Can ya blame me, though?

C’mon, they’re all these big burly hairy dudes with arms like Popeye who spend all day beating metal with a big hammer (on a cartoon style anvil, no less!) over huge fires and making swords and stuff!! Okay, so I also wanted to be the guy who rode on the back of the garbage truck as a kid, too…

Anyway, the upright bassist on the right is something I never thought of as a kid and  well, I play it now. Gotta say, I really enjoy it a lot.

Eh, who knew? Although bass players are usually big burly hairy dudes with arms like Popeye, too.

Bomber jacket cartoon George Berlin animation art

And then there’s the bomber pilot. Cool guy, huh? When I was drawing this I thought, y’know, I bet they gave them really cool jackets so people would want to be bombers (which, I’m sure is a very dangerous job).  I don’t think I ever wanted to be a bomber pilot (though I did want to be a pilot).

Cook clown thief cartoon animation art George Berlin

I never wanted to be any of these, either- but I’m sure there’s plenty of kids who did! There was always that one kid who wanted to be the robber in cops and robbers… hmm is he in jail now?

The chef is a little ‘Chef Boyardee-ish’ isn’t he? And, okay, I might have thought it would’ve been pretty cool to go run away and join the circus as a kid, too. I like the clown and his teeny hat and sadly mis-matched clothes.

Next time- dinosaurs and rockstars!

Leave a Reply

 
