George Berlin’s Art Blog

Delving into the mind of one of those weird artist people

What do you wanna be when you grow up? (the painting part 1)

Posted by eyeofthehurricane99 on March 20, 2009

So, I showed some crazy doodles of this earlier…

( here here here here here and here)

Once I got a few of them together, I thought… hey, I should make a big ol’ painting out of this.

Here’s the rough layout of it on the canvas:

career cartoons George Berlin animation art

You can also get a fine glimpse of my messy studio!

That little Fisher Price chicken poking its head out behind the painting is by my friend (and studio mate) Alice Brozofsky.  I’d link you to her website right here, but she ain’t got one! If you dig her stuff, email me… I know where to find her.

She gave me that painting for Xmas one year.

Anyhoo, that’s a 36 x 48 canvas I’ve drawn this onto. These were taken directly from scans of the scribbles I posted earlier, then blown up with a video projector hooked to the computer.

I don’t like to re-design on the canvas- something always gets lost in translation and I hate the messy pencil lines that never seem to come off.  I draw them on the canvas with- a Sharpie! That’s so it doesn’t smear and also so I can go outside the lines a bit and still see them (it takes a very conscious effort to cover up the lines with paint- they’re pretty solid).

Then I paint the image (duh…) and then RE-INK the image with acrylic ink. I know, double work. But it makes the paintings pop to have super solid black lines over them. Like stained glass.

I’m not quite done laying this one out- you’ll see 5 empty squares at the bottom. I forgot two drawings (the fireman and the astronaut) and I simply haven’t created the other 3.  Also, that long strip in the middle is going to say “What do you wanna be when you grow up?”

I originally thought of having each character in his own black-outlined square, with a different fruit-flavored background for each.

But I decided to just have a one color background- mostly when I realized that some of them overlapped each other by design.

Whaddya think?

More later…

2 Responses to “What do you wanna be when you grow up? (the painting part 1)”

  1. Mars said

    Lookin good man! Love the idea for the layout.

    Monkey? Check.
    Robot? Check.
    Ninja? Check.
    Pirate? Check.

    Well, you got all the ingredients for guaranteed awesome right there man, I predict a triumph!

    • eyeofthehurricane99 said

      Marsden,

      I think those four things were my answer to ‘What do you wanna be when you grow up?’ for sure. Perhaps even all at once!

      Oh, and Tom says you’re fired.

      😉

Leave a Reply

 
