George Berlin’s Art Blog

Delving into the mind of one of those weird artist people

What do you wanna be when you grow up? (a few more doodles)

Posted by eyeofthehurricane99 on March 28, 2009

So, I showed you a million and a half doodles for this here…(there’s more parts, so click through to those, too)

And I showed you a finished layout of the painting here… with a few empty spots for 5 more drawings.

Here’s two of them:

King and poet cartoon paintings art animation George Berlin

I forget what  song it was I was listening to at work that mentioned something about a king and poet, but they sparked these two drawings.

I’ve been listening to a lot of olde timey music on internet radio at work lately (swing from the 40’s, the Andrew Sisters, etc) so who knows.

Heck, this morning, I heard Paul Anka doing a lounge lizard version of “Smells Like Teen Spirit” by Nirvana that was just awesome!

Anyway, I just love how foppish kings always are.

For some of my work stuff…(I posted a video and some stories about some of it here)

we do animated biographies of the U.S. presidents. The early ones are always fighting with kings (or getting foreign aid from them) and it’s always amazing that how the more

powerful you get- the more you dress like a little girl. Curls in your hair, furry capes and jewels and fancy socks and stuff.

The poet is based a bit on my friend David Hernandez, famous poet and unofficial poet laureate of Chicago.

I’ve shown many a painting at the gallery/salon space he and his wife run here in Chicago called Blue Line Studio.

Good peoples. I had to give the poet a patch on his pants cuz, well, poets are usually broke. Hehe.

More soon (lotsa work coming up, so it may be a bit sporadic)

Leave a Reply

 
