George Berlin’s Art Blog

Delving into the mind of one of those weird artist people

Lady Bugs and Bumblebees collection!(part1)

Posted by eyeofthehurricane99 on May 2, 2009

So we showed some boy collections here and here…

And then I went all girlie on ya…

Well, we’re going to stay girlie for a while longer, I’m afraid…

bumblebee lady bugs girlie animation art kids childrens licensing backpacks George Berlin

Lady bug and bumblebee patterns! Yeah!

I like the left one… feels like strawberries to me somehow. I like that the heart and the lady bug are about the same color and size- kinda

blurs the line between them. I used leaves as part of the pattern because that’s always where you find a lady bug, and they make nice motifs.

The pattern on the right is a TAD bit too geometric for me, but everything is really tight together on it, so I can’t alternate too much on it.

I think it’ll redeem itself by the fact that it’ll look good rotated 45 degrees, too.  Makes it more versatile.

The message of this pattern is fun- basically that bees and flowers are all in lurv with each other. Ahh, nice right?

bumblebee lady bugs girlie animation art kids childrens licensing backpacks George Berlin

And why, yes… that IS the same bumblebee from the sketches for my next short film… go see more about it in this  post.

I recycle!

I like the tightness of this left pattern- I try to do some tighter ones and some more open ones… just to show I can and for variety’s sake. Some things work better one way or the other.

The right one I wanted to work in a honeycomb pattern, since y’know, it’s a pattern already and bees love it and all.

So I went for a sort of “picture frame” look for that one. And then snuck some little bees and hearts in the smaller spaces. I like it.

bumblebee lady bugs girlie animation art kids childrens licensing backpacks George Berlin

Here’s some borders for cups and bags and wall coverings and such. I wanted to use the leaves in the pattern on the top since they’re such a good image for that.

I like how the lady bug seemed kind of speechless to be face to face with the bee in the middle one.

More later- product mock-ups for sure!

One Response to “Lady Bugs and Bumblebees collection!(part1)”

  1. Michele said

    I love the ladybugs and hearts! I’d buy oodles of this stuff. For my daughter, of course. I might have to hold onto it for awhile, though.

Leave a Reply

 
