George Berlin’s Art Blog

Delving into the mind of one of those weird artist people

Dog Paintings (cont’d)!

Posted by eyeofthehurricane99 on May 19, 2009

See, I told you I wasn’t going to post for, mmm, 10 days or so.

I’m back on the merry-go-round of work shortly but I’ll post some in between.

Anyhoo…

I showed you the sketches here of li’l Zebo as the dog of a thousand disguises…

Now, we have color!

dog painting commission cartoon lawyer pirate cowboy knight detective animation art George Berlin

In case you don’t remember… I did a few paintings of this little rascal for a patron of mine…

And I wanted to make this piece you see above a sort of a ‘thank-you’ gift. I really like  it!

I went out of my way to get a lot of texture on the watercolor (some of that may be lost in this scan)

which is evident mostly in the letters, the lawyer’s suit and some of the rockstar’s hair.

I’m very fond of the blue hair on the rocker, the belly button on the pirate and the cowboy’s hat, personally.

While working on this, I got a bug to paint some more watercolor. I work mostly in acrylics for my fine art, but I use watercolors for the background

paintings in the videos I do for work (which I mentioned here).

That, and watercolors are a bit more fun and relaxing to use- not to mention that it somehow feels like the 3rd grade again whenever I use them!

So, I made a little dinosaur just for fun…

dinosaur watercolors animation art childrend kids licensing George Berlin

You may recall, I have a thing for dinosaurs…

I was going for a wash-y sort of  ‘kids book’ feel for this. And, of course, I just wanted to play a little bit.

🙂

Leave a Reply

 
