George Berlin’s Art Blog

Delving into the mind of one of those weird artist people

Railroad trains! (woo woo) part 2

Posted by eyeofthehurricane99 on May 30, 2009

So… I showed you some train squiggles the other day

Well, I’ve worked on them a bit- and here they are!

railroad train caboose locomotive kids childrens art licensing animation George Berlin

We’ll start at the back with the caboose.

I’m still a little back and forth on the little rail at the front and back- you can’t really tell what it is. Hmm.  Gotta figure that one out.

Also not sure if the stairs are too big and honking. I’ll kick it around some. But I like the feel of it.

🙂

Here’s a flat top car with some lumber on it.

railroad train caboose locomotive kids childrens art licensing animation George Berlin

I like the big logs and the simple wheels on these. Real trains have all this stuff over the wheels that’s just too complex for the kiddies, I like

to think. I also believe I had a great affinity for the logs on some little train set I had as a kid. That and- Lincoln Logs! Loved ’em.

Here’s the box car:

railroad train box car caboose locomotive kids childrens art licensing animation George Berlin

All we need is a little cartoon hobo sleeping inside! I went for real simple colors on these to appeal more to the kiddies. I figured most

boxcars are some boring brown color. Blaah.

Here’s the whole train together to get a feel for how they look in a row.

Not bad, eh?

railroad train caboose locomotive kids childrens art licensing animation George Berlin

As you can see, there’s no locomotive just yet. I started with the caboose, because I had a good sense of how I wanted it to look even though I was  a bit unsure.

Then the other two cars were a little easier to work out. I still have an open top car to make (for grain, dirt, coal etc) and the engine of course.

I think I wanted to wait on the locomotive, since it’s sort of the ‘frontman’ in the train band, if you will.

More next time!

Leave a Reply

 
