George Berlin’s Art Blog

Delving into the mind of one of those weird artist people

Railroad trains! (woo woo) part 4

Posted by eyeofthehurricane99 on June 1, 2009

Onward to more trains!

Last time, I showed you a sketch of the engine…

Now we have the real deal for ya.

railroad trains engine locomotive conductor art animation kids licensing childrens George Berlin

Can you hear the wheels clacking and the steam and the bells and whistles, or what?

I actually did a fully colored version of this yesterday- that I totally hated!

Well, hate is a strong word.

Some of the lines on the cab portion reaaaaaallly bothered me and I didn’t care for

the shape of  whatever you call that round thing on the front. And I colored it far too darkly on the metal parts.

It just felt too heavy and not nearly as fun as it should. This one- I like!

I added those little lines on the wheels near the top and bottom, too. So it feels a bit rounder and more dimensional this way.

Too bad I tossed the old version in the trash can- it’d be nice to put up here to show what was wrong with it.

Oh yeah, and I made a “grain hopper” too:

railroad trains engine locomotive conductor art animation kids licensing childrens George Berlin

I know, they’re basically the same gold color. But they won’t be next to each other on the train.

This is one of those cars that they fill from the top and empty from the bottom.  Not bad, eh?

Here’s the whole train:

railroad trains engine locomotive conductor art animation kids licensing childrens George Berlin

A little different from when I showed it to you here, yes?

Obviously, it has an engine pulling it now (duh) but I also swapped some cars around to make it feel a little better. It didn’t look right with the box

car right behind the locomotive. I like the kiddie color scheme for the cars, too.

Maybe I’ll get crazy and stick some dinosaurs inside driving it or something, like the bulldozers earlier… hmm.

Okay, so who wants for under the Xmas tree this year?

🙂

One Response to “Railroad trains! (woo woo) part 4”

  1. […] I gots a very talented boyfriend. Love the little ladybug and bumblebee purses (second picture down) and these cute train cars. […]

Leave a Reply

 
