George Berlin’s Art Blog

Delving into the mind of one of those weird artist people

Spacemen collection!

Posted by eyeofthehurricane99 on June 8, 2009

Continuing some new collection ideas…

The inspiration fairy came and smacked me really hard upside the head the other day.

And I was seeing stars!

spaceship astronaut space shuttle saturn art childrens kids licensing animation George Berlin

Stars in outer space, that is!

I said, hmm… I really liked me some outer space as a kid. My whole room was covered with  moon landing photos and pictures of Mars and stuff.

Maybe I should do some space stuff.

So we started with an astronaut. Okay, his left foot’s a little strange. I got the right one down well- but I figured I could get back to the left.  I like him, though.

I really liked the space shuttle as a kid, too. That and I figured kiddies today wouldn’t recognize the moon lander.

🙂

I might do the “Space Lab” style satellite as a separate piece from the shuttle, even though I show it being held by an arm here.

Anyone remember Space Lab? Fell outta the sky 30 years ago? I know, I’m an old geezer, right…

I like the little stumpy rocket- like one of those kiddie rides in front of the supermarket. I tried doing the moon (you can see it to the right of the rocket) but it looks kinda weird.

Might need to do a little finessing to that idea…

The falling star didn’t work too well for me, either. Just looks like it’s on fire or something weird. Hm.

Saturn looks nice- easy to read and recognizable. Oh, and I sorta like the ‘goofy’ falling star to the left of Saturn (but I don’t think I’ll use it).

And of course, the star is good too.

That’s all for now- more next time!

Leave a Reply

 
