George Berlin’s Art Blog

Delving into the mind of one of those weird artist people

Some random cartoony paintings…(part 1)

Posted by eyeofthehurricane99 on June 10, 2009

So, here’s some paintings I started while I was working on another, much bigger painting.

Made these while I was sitting waiting for the paint to dry on something else, basically.

🙂

Because we all know the saying about watching paint dry…

fishies fish cartoon cartoony art George Berlin animation childrens kids

This is the tiniest of them- just about an inch and a half  square.

That big gray blob is a paint stain- I used this little teeny canvas to hold up the bottom

of this huge painting while I painted the edges.

Even my paintings  multi-task, right?

Every time I’ve painted fish, they look sort of like this. I see fish as always just slightly above neutral, disposition-wise. But never very bright.

They always look like they’re having fun, though.

On to bigger fishes:

shark cartoon funny kids art childrens licensing George Berlin animation

This guy’s about 3 x 3 inches. Doesn’t he look like fun?

I bet he’ll play some games with you before he eats you…

If you look close at the pencil lines on this shark painting, you’ll see I sketched out a drawing (which I scrapped) for this next painting:

pie cherry art funny kids childrens licensing animation George Berlin

That previous sketch had the perspective a little weird for me. But, of course, I’m not going to waste a canvas over that.

I like this one much better. Might lose the ‘steam lines’- they look too much like ‘stink lines’! And who wants stinky dessert, really?

This one, a friend (another friend’s boss’s girlfriend) named Cheri asked me to make this for her kitchen. Cherry, Cheri- get it?

Any way, you’ll see these painted soon. Promise.

Leave a Reply

 
