George Berlin’s Art Blog

Delving into the mind of one of those weird artist people

Dino Racing Team! (part 3)

Posted by eyeofthehurricane99 on July 2, 2009

So, I showed you a few squiggles the last time about them Racin’ Dinos…

onto some more!

dino-race06

Here, I was thinking, hmm what kind of car should a big finned stegosaurus drive… and my girlie says, duh how about

a car with fins?

Brilliant, I say!

I like the design of the top one, but the car is too small compared to the dino. The bottom one is better proportioned- I just need to make it more like the top car.

Luckily, the week before I had been doodling some 50’s style hot rods for this collection. Just hadn’t picked who’d drive them yet.

race cars dinosaurs racing dragster monster truck animated animation childrens licensing art kids George Berlin

I like the big fins on the top one, but I like the teeny-ness on the bottom one. I think I’m going more for a hot rod version of this Police car I did for

my Rescue Force collection…

Here’s a few more things I was testing:

race cars dinosaurs racing dragster monster truck animated animation childrens licensing art kids George Berlin

It’s the pteradactyl biker! I kinda like this one- he’s a bit silly.

I also like the dragster with that big dino- it reminds me a lot of those CO2 race cars you’d make in shop class as a kid. That and I think the dino fits nicely.

Okay, one more!

race cars dinosaurs racing dragster monster truck animated animation childrens licensing art kids George Berlin

I went to this vintage car show and race (!) in Pittsburgh a few years back, while I was animating this video about Andy Warhol– who’s from there.

And they had all these great old race cars, flying around the track with no tops on them or nothing!

And they were all just gor-gee-ous! So here’s where I wanted to work one in…although this dino looks a bit like, I dunno, just a snake or something.

Somehow the goggles and the buck teeth make him look a bit like the nerd of the bunch. I mean, maybe he is- he’s driving the old tymey car and all.

He looks like he’s having the most fun, though.

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

 
