George Berlin’s Art Blog

Delving into the mind of one of those weird artist people

“The Bee’s Knees” my next short animated film (part 9 of a bazillion)

Posted by eyeofthehurricane99 on July 21, 2009

So, we fired up the ol’ short film-making machine again…

I showed you a little ‘exploratory’ drawing last time.

Today, I’ve got another drawing and some rough animation!

Yeah!

First, the drawing:

Bumblebee animation concept art kids childrens licensing design childrens George Berlin

I think  I’ve made a very similar drawing to this one a while back- but the purpose of it was different. Last time, I was designing some of the look and action. Here, I’m working out how I’m going to make it all work.

My two main concerns: what animation technique will work best for the action and look I’m going for and can I animate it well enough in that particular style to do it justice?

I was a  bit concerned about whether or not I could draw the car going around that corner well enough- it’s a bit of a complicated vehicle. That, and well… how much movement can I get out of

the background as we’re following the car while staying true to how I see this film looking? This might work as a static shot, but it’s a very kinetic part of the film- it should feel zippy and fun and moving here.

I was still debating whether or not to do it in 3D or not at this point. It would afford a lot more movement, but I was worried about the look. The jury is still out on whether I want to do the background flat-colored or with some sort of pastel-y kid-like texture.

Not a big deal at this point.

So, I made this little test here to figure out how well I could do the animation if I do it hand-drawn, as well as how the layers of hills and camera movement would work. Stuff like- how much can I move the hills as the camera follows the car, what goes in front of what, and so on.

What do you think? I’m leaning pretty heavily towards doing this hand-drawn now.

I think 3D would lose a lot of the charm of it, personally. That and some of the 3D tests I did lead me to discover that many of the things that are easy in 2D are a big pain in 3D.

Perfect example- the layering of the hills. In 3D, I have to make some sort of topographical sense in terms of having basically half-spherical hills lining up perfectly with the curvature of the sides of the road.

In 2D- ha! No problemo!

That and, dernit, the animation of the car going around the road is just so much more fun to watch in 2D!

I’ve been very worried that the 3D look would just distract from the animation, too.

What do you all think? Next time, more animation exploration of some other scenes in the chase…

Leave a Reply

 
