George Berlin’s Art Blog

Delving into the mind of one of those weird artist people

“The Bee’s Knees” my next short animated film (part 11 of a bazillion)

Posted by eyeofthehurricane99 on July 23, 2009

We had a few squiggles here…

and some actual animation here!

Now, more squiggles!

bumblebees animation cartoon art kids children funny licensing film George Berlin

I showed a little ‘road plan’ last time- here’s more of that. I want it all to be kind of Seussical if you will. All windy and twisty, but fun.

Very inspired by, of all things, a trip I took to Pittsburgh which is all hills and tunnels and stuff built on cliffs with roads going way up and in between for no

particular reason.

Here’ some chasing bee drawings:

bumblebees animation cartoon art kids children funny licensing film George Berlin

I wanted to work a bit on how he’ll look from the front, all determined but not mad necessarily. Somebody’s got his girl, you know!

That and his little ‘snoot’ on the end of his nose needs special attention so he doesn’t look like an elephant or an ant-eater. I think all three of these doodles work.

Here’s some more chase drawings:

bumblebees animation cartoon art kids children funny licensing film George Berlin

I wanted to work out a bit of how he’ll look from the side, more near the start of the chase, with that stretched-out because he’s flying as

fast as he ever has sort of look. And of course, the happy-go-lucky guy just bopping along in his car completely unaware of the fact

that he’s shattered some little bee’s love life!

Last one!

bumblebees animation cartoon art kids children funny licensing film George Berlin

Poor little bee! I put him through the emotional wringer in this film! Quick plot summary- the guy takes his little flower girlfriend off the windowsill where the bee was serenading her. He’s too busy

singing to notice she’s gone until he hears the window slam shut!

So he cries his little bee eyes out! And then suddenly snaps his head up when he hears the guy taking her to the car.

And the chase is on!

I just wanted to work out the angle on this shot.

I’ll be storyboarding the whole thing, shortly. Like I said, the method I’ll be animating this with affects how I’ll frame some of the shots so I wanted to work that out some.

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

 
