George Berlin’s Art Blog

Delving into the mind of one of those weird artist people

“The Bee’s Knees” my next short animated film (part 12 of a bazillion)

Posted by eyeofthehurricane99 on July 29, 2009

You will very shortly see why I’ve titled these posts “…part X of a bazillion”

🙂

I just scanned the first 11 pages of  35 pages worth of storyboards for this film!!

(you don’t get to the see the ending, cuz it’s a sur-prise!)

Here’s my previous post about this film…

Now here’s the first page of storyboards!

Animation art concept production kids bumblebee childrens cartoon funny George Berlin film

So here’s where our story begins.

A little house by the road in the hills next to a tree with a little beehive hanging on it which is where the bee lives.

I wanted to focus on showing the setting here because- due to the bee’s scale- we really won’t see the house again for a few more minutes.

He’s so tiny, even the wide shots have to be really close to him! So when we’re focusing later on him and his darlin’ the flower, we don’t really see the house (even though they’re right

on the windowsill of it! Even some of the ‘wide scenes’ later on, I have to stay really close to him or he’s just a speck!

That, and this is a good spot to put on some ‘country’ sounds of birds tweeting and pleasant music, etc.

As soon as we start following the bee, however, we switch to sort of ‘bouncy’ music as he happily

bops along and says ‘Hi’ to all of his friends in the fields.

Until this, I’ve had the whole story in my brain. And my brain was getting full!!

I worked out a bit of the production pipeline a while back, so I figured it’d be a good time to lay-out the story and get a sense of what I’m in for.

Turns out there’s about 200 or so shots to this film (!) Sounds like a lot, right?

It’ll only be somewhere shy of 10 minutes in my guesstimation. But still, I can only draw maybe half a minute’s worth in a good day (maybe more- depends on how much is happening in a shot).

That’s just the actual drawing- I have to take a while to think out each  shot, set-up the background, figure out the music and sound effects and color it all, too.

So this’ll take a while. But it’ll be worth it!

On a side note, this is the most organized of the storyboard pages you’ll see. I always find that, as I go along, they get crazier and looser  with wacky notes all over and I go from 8 panels per page down to 6 as I get more excited about the story.

Next time, page 2!

Leave a Reply

 
