George Berlin’s Art Blog

Delving into the mind of one of those weird artist people

“The Bee’s Knees” my next short animated film (part 13 of a bazillion)

Posted by eyeofthehurricane99 on July 30, 2009

So, I unveiled the first page of storyboards here…

I know, I know… you’re all still bristling with excitement from getting to see them.

But, cruel man that I am, I’m subjecting you to EVEN MORE before you’ve gotten over the thrill of seeing the first page! Muhahaha!

Page Two:

animation art childrens kids funny cartoons bumblebee licensing George Berlin

Look! I made a huge change to the story!

See all those scribbles? Stuff I threw out!

Originally, my idea was that the flower he meets later in the story is the best-smelling flower EVER. Him being a bee, I figured that would be why he likes her so much.

So, he’d meet these first few flowers and, of course, they’d smell nice but just not good enough. He’s a picky guy, you know.

But then I thought, hmm, that might be confusing to the kiddies. And this is supposed to be a very ‘upbeat’ story so I wanted to leave that seemingly negative response out.

So I just made him a happy friendly guy who likes to go around saying hello to all the flowers and they all really like him and stuff.

Sort of setting up that he likes his women to smell nice.

🙂

So he meets a flower and gives her a good sniff and then bobs back and forth happily before zipping off,  leaving her all giggly to go say hello to some more flowers along the way.

I think it’s funny that the flowers are all so coy, sort of a funny 50’s “Leave it to Beaver” girlie-girl throwback.

I gave the guy who lives in the house a 50’s car, so maybe it’s some sort of idyllic anachronistic thing going on here. The bee is supposed to be kind of a kid, too. So maybe it’s just

shy young’uns.

These first few shots are my view of how a bee’s day goes, I guess. Fly around, go sniff your favorite flowers, etc.

What do you think so far?

Tomorrow- page 3!

Leave a Reply

 
