George Berlin’s Art Blog

Delving into the mind of one of those weird artist people

“The Bee’s Knees” my next short animated film (part 14 of a bazillion)

Posted by eyeofthehurricane99 on July 31, 2009

Onward, to more storyboards!

(like I showed ya here…)

bumblebee animation cartoons kids children licensing art funny George Berlin

Did I mention that the poor li’l bee gets smacked around a whole lot in this film?

This is just one of many times he flies into things.  But don’t worry- he’s just a cartoon. He doesn’t actually get hurt.

Most of this is good- although I think the windowsill is a bit low. I might have to have him fly up a bit after he leaves his flowery friends.

Oh yeah, and I think when I do the sound for this film the bee will be portrayed with a kazoo. So all that ‘happy mumbling’ will be with that.

Here’s another board:

bumblebee animation cartoons kids children licensing art funny George Berlin

This one is a bit confusing- I changed my mind a few times here and there, as you can see.

Start in the upper left, than go straight down, then across to the middle, then up to the upper right then down.

I scratched the middle frame on the top after I drew the one next to it, so things  got all messed up.

So in his dazed state we cut to him lying on his back. I’m still debating if he should have little bumblebees or little flowers orbiting around his head when he’s dazed, but that’s splitting hairs

at this point…

I may even show him on his back (lower left) THEN go to the upper right and THEN to that little one-two face in the middle on the bottom, too. I’ll play with it when I do a rough video version of this shortly.

Basically, he sees the flower on the windowsill and does a ‘huh?’ either before or after it lying on his back.

Then he pops up really quick and looks abit and blinks while he tries to figure out what he’s looking at.

Next time- flowery romance!

Leave a Reply

 
