George Berlin’s Art Blog

Delving into the mind of one of those weird artist people

“The Bee’s Knees” my next short animated film (part 17 of a bazillion)

Posted by eyeofthehurricane99 on August 5, 2009

Wooing in full force last time!

Well, put on the oven mitts today- it’s gonna get steamy!

bumblebee bees cartoon animation funny kids children art George Berlin

I might have just gone from ‘G’ to ‘PG’ here, folks.

I decided to do the kiss as a nuzzle mostly because it’s funnier, really. I think of the bee as a dog sometimes, but here I’m modeling him more on an elephant. That’s usually how I handle all

the snout-related issues for this.

So then he’s all enamored in the second shot, bobbing back and forth and wagging his stinger (see, he is part dog!)

Um, and then he disappears. Hey, what’s up with that?

And she has to watch him turn into a little speck as he goes back into his hive.

I resisted the urge to show her with the hands on the hips in the “Mmmhmm” pose right after that.

Here’s my second to the last storyboard!

Okay, there’s 25 more pages, really. But I don’t want to give away TOO much of the story just yet.

bumblebee bees cartoon animation funny kids children art George Berlin

Aww, perty little flower got her heart all broke!

That first shot will be pretty long, with maybe some sad strings music. I know- wipe the tears folks, wipe the tears…

But wait, he’s back and he brought his… ukelele?

Yup.

I figured, c’mon he’s all in lurv– how can he resist?

That and I thought it’d be funny for him to sing ‘Daisy’ to his girlfriend the daisy. Nyuk nyuk.

I figured there’d have to be some courtship of some sort, right?

The song will go on for a few bars… and then…?

See ya next time!

Leave a Reply

 
