George Berlin’s Art Blog

Delving into the mind of one of those weird artist people

“The Bee’s Knees” my next short animated film (part 19 of a bazillion)

Posted by eyeofthehurricane99 on August 7, 2009

So, I wrenched the poor little bee’s true love right out from under his funny-looking nose last time…

I know, I’m a bad man.

Animation will do that to you.

🙂

Unfortunately, I won’t be showing any more storyboards just yet. Gotta keep my spoiler ending to myself, you know.

Back to some doodles I made right around when I was doing the storyboard.

bumblebee flower bees art childrens kids cartoons funny animation George Berlin

Somewhere during the whole storyboard process I went, huh… what DOES a flower look like from the back? Hadn’t really thought about it during many of my earlier sketches working

out how the flower is going to look.

So, I doodled this.

Most flowers have the weird spikey stuff on the back, like the top middle one I think. But the world I’m designing for this film is much rounder, so I might go for more like the bottom

one.

I also figured I’d post this just cuz, well, you guys never get to see me doing re-oh-listical looking drawings.

I’m not bad, eh?

Okay, here’s another one:

bumblebee flower bees art childrens kids cartoons funny animation George Berlin

So, this one was important because I’ve never really drawn a view this wide of everything as it’ll be designed.

That and I wanted to explore a few more ‘hill pattern’ ideas.

I might ditch the hearts and stars (I don’t want to get all ‘Lucky Charms’ on ya with the designs). But I like the rest- especially the

spirals and the wiggly lines. The triangles and circles are a bit “80’s shoulder pad woman’s work suit” but I think they’ll work with the right

colors.

I also like how solid the car looks here- that’s a pretty tough car to draw. I keep drawing it over and over just to burn it into my head.

That’s all for now, folks. See you next time!

Leave a Reply

 
