George Berlin’s Art Blog

Delving into the mind of one of those weird artist people

Critters driving!

Posted by eyeofthehurricane99 on September 1, 2009

Here’s something I’ve been meaning to paint for some time now…

A whole series of animals driving cars shaped like what they eat!

I know, sounds weird- just trust me, okay?

banana boat monkey pirates cartoon funny animals art kids childrens licensing George Berlin animation

It’s a banana boat, get it?

I think this may be the idea that kicked this whole series off- I have a bunch more in my other sketchbook I have to scan, too.

It was that or the monkey driving a banana like a car. Hmm.

I was tempted to have the monkey rowing, but then it just looks like he’s sitting on a huge banana instead of an actual boat when it has a sail.

Go figure.

Okay, next:

peanut car elephant banana boat monkey pirates cartoon funny animals art kids childrens licensing George Berlin animation

I think I like this one because, well a peanut is sort of like a camel in that it’s got two humps

with a pre-built spot in the middle perfect for sitting in!

I think these remind me of Shriner cars or maybe some sort of weird merry-go-round for

animals or something like that.

Okay, now one that’s SOMEWHAT related but not really…

monkey motorcycle peanut car elephant banana boat monkey pirates cartoon funny animals art kids childrens licensing George Berlin animation

Unless that’s a motorcycle-eating monkey, this is NOT an animal riding its food. But c’mon,  you can look into

that innocent little face and tell him he has to leave the page…

I like how happy the monkey looks here. That and there’s something very funny about having thumbs on your feet while they’re sitting on the

gear shifter for a motorcycle.

More next time!

Leave a Reply

 
