George Berlin’s Art Blog

Delving into the mind of one of those weird artist people

Pigs, Cows and Roosters, oh my! (part 1)

Posted by eyeofthehurricane99 on October 15, 2009

Back to the doodling board!

Been doing a bunch of animatics (like these) and some hand-drawn stuff (like this) lately

so there hasn’t been too much doodling going on…

But I’m a-changing that!

Some girlie keeps telling me I need to design some roosters and cows to go with my pigs…because that’s what people collect!

Not that I’m selling out (I haven’t started taking orders yet- nyuk nyuk!) but it doesn’t hurt to do your market research.

So I’m dusting off the piggies.

I always draw the piggies the same way- like this:

pigs roosters cows farm funny animals cartoons George Berlin art animation licensing kids et

Kind of a quarter circle with legs, basically.

Well, I’m working on branching them out a bit!

pigs roosters cows farm funny animals cartoons George Berlin art animation licensing kids et

As you can see, not all the poses work as well as others. Bending sleepy pig with the x on him… nope!

Leaping pig and smiley pig and surprised pig- aw heck yeah! I’m debating the whole ‘colored hoofs’ thing.

Might be too Porky Pig for me… I like the stretchy legs and the nose- I never really did nostrils before on the pigs. I

find it helps to make them two different sizes and a bit asymmetrical. It’s just me, I guess.

I also never drew them with their mouths open. Weird, I know but the design doesn’t work the same way like that. So I had

to work out a way to have them open their mouths.

Okay, here’s one more…

pigs roosters cows farm funny animals cartoons George Berlin art animation licensing kids et

I think this one was inspired by my dog. Do you think pigs sit in their mud chawin’ on an ear of corn like

a dog with a bone? Looks good to me.

That and I wanted to draw a piggy nursing a buncha piglets- a classic image, I think. Which made me realize-

you know I’ve never drawn these pigs from the back either. Huh.

So I did a few of those. Not bad, I think. Kinda cute, even.

Next time, cows and roosters and stuff! Yeah!

Leave a Reply

 
