George Berlin’s Art Blog

Delving into the mind of one of those weird artist people

Animal doodles! (part 2)

Posted by eyeofthehurricane99 on December 31, 2009

On to part 2 of my exciting new series of zoo animals!

(part 1 was right here…)

Moving on to some weirder animals:

circus licensing art kids zoo giraffe rhino ostrich funny elephant monkey fun childrens animation George Berlin

I like the lion in the middle there… just cute and weird enough yet still accurate somehow. His big paws did it for me, personally.

That weird gazelle thing there made it most of the way to working, but stopped short with the weird face. Gotta work on that. The bear next to it  (yes, that’s supposed to be a bear) looks a bit to weaselly or maybe like some sort of badger or a big mouse.  More drawings of him on the next sheet.

The croc is good, but just a liiiiittle too menacing looking. As for that weird Victorian collar-wearing monkey thing there… hoo mama that one went over like a lead balloon.

I was thinking of those little monkeys that have the big furry necks and long hair on their arms and all that. Somewhere between my idea and the pen, that thing went ka-plooie!

More critters:

circus licensing art kids zoo giraffe rhino ostrich funny elephant monkey fun childrens animation George Berlin

Sometimes, when I’m stuck on a drawing, I’ll try to make a more ‘realistic’ image of what I’m trying to capture. I just couldn’t get the bear right earlier, so I drew him a tiny bit more like how he really looks there in the center, so I could make a better cartoony drawing of him on the left.

I realized that what he needed was a bigger body overall and big round ears to look more bear-like.

I still gotta work on that tiger- he’s close to the lion in the last post, but still a bit off.  I like where he’s going, though.

That’s all for now- let’s see where I can take this!

Leave a Reply

 
