George Berlin’s Art Blog

Delving into the mind of one of those weird artist people

3D vegetables!

Posted by eyeofthehurricane99 on January 5, 2010

Here’s a bit from a very new project I’m working on with some singing, dancing vegetables

that promotes good nutrition (still in the early creation stages).

I have some of it animated, but I can’t really show any of that- confidentiality and all.

There’s some original songs and all for the product they wish to sell that they don’t want out there.

Here’s some character models, however.

animated veggies vegetables broccoli celery pepper cool fun funny cartoons kids children art licensing nutrition George Berlin

The celery is the lead singer, of course. It’s always the cool,  good-looking vegetables with the awesome hair

who get to be the front man, you know.

I really dig the broccoli- looks kind of like he’s got a big green ‘fro. I also like how their stalks split into legs- feels a bit like

Gumby or something. I was also pretty proud of the organicy-ness of the pepper. Good and gnarled and bumpy like a real pepper.

Basically, he’s just a cylinder with some parts pulled inward and then pushed around a bit.

These are my client’s designs, with a touch of my hand in them. This is a bit smaller budget project, so I’m trying to keep the design simple and easily readable

with a minimal of detail. Essentially, just trying to be smart about how I spend my time. The celery’s stalk going up into his hair, for

example I tried to show as much ‘branching off’ as possible without really making it too complex so it reads ‘celery’ without a lot of

detail.

Also, the characters have hand-drawn mouths (as opposed to, say 3D modeled mouths) that are simply placed on their 3D surface.

These will animate and render faster and I don’t have to spend time modeling them either. And I think it fits nicely with their look, as well.

A few more:

animated veggies vegetables broccoli celery pepper cool fun funny cartoons kids children art licensing nutrition George Berlin

One of my personal favorites- the Onion! I actually made this out of a copy of the pepper you see above. Just pinched a

few things here and there and we have an onion- who knew, right? I’m very proud of the texture on this one- there are no

photographs used for this (or any of the others).

It’s just numerically controlled gradients and color layered over one another. And I really like the ‘onion-y’ legs on her too. Like

she’s wearing onion pantyhose or something.

🙂

Oh and the ladies all have pink glittery cat-eye shades. Think of the back-up singers for Ray Charles- that sort of look.

One more:

animated veggies vegetables broccoli celery pepper cool fun funny cartoons kids children art licensing nutrition George Berlin

I actually made a little mistake here- the tomato has a leaf that looks like he’s wearing a beret (think ‘beatnik’).

He’s actually supposed to be wearing a real beret- the sketch from the client was a little misleading. I like the leaf, though. It’s kind

of funny.

The tomato is actually made from a copy of the pepper, too. Awfully versatile pepper, eh?

I had to be careful with the pea pod that I placed the, er, ‘bumps’ in the right places… being a girl pea pod and all. I also had a bit of

a time positioning her mouth and glasses well, so that a pea didn’t look like her nose right in between them. She went from foxy to

Jimmy Durante really fast.

What do you think? Would you go see them in concert?

Leave a Reply

 
