George Berlin’s Art Blog

Delving into the mind of one of those weird artist people

New Animal doodles (part 3)

Posted by eyeofthehurricane99 on February 19, 2010

We had a few parts of this series back here…

which dealt mostly with circus animals. On to some zoo animals!

gorilla animals fun funny kids art animation childrens licensing George Berlin

I think I started with this gorilla. Not sure how I like him, just yet. He needs a bit of refinement still.

I haven’t worked out a way to do that monstrously large forehead that doesn’t feel weirdly stuck on or

too much like Terk from Disney’s Tarzan. Hmm. Gotta doodle him more.

I like the mitten-like hands and feet and his general proportion, though.

On to some others:

gazelle hippo gorilla animals fun funny kids art animation childrens licensing George Berlin

This is a pretty decent drawing of a good funny hippo, and two sadly drawn gazelles. Well, one really.

The middle one I drew from a photograph to get a sense of the proportion of these guys and the details about

it that said ‘gazelle’ to me. I usually do this just to familiarize myself with what I want to draw first.

So he doesn’t count, really. More just to get a feel for it and to get a doodle with all the right parts.

The bottom one was attempt number one to make a good cartoony one. Eh- not too good.

I ditched the stripes under the eyes- too tear like or ‘punk rock’ if you will.

🙂

Here’s a few drawings later, when I hit on one that I really liked:

gazelle rhinos gazelle hippo gorilla animals fun funny kids art animation childrens licensing George Berlin

Gazelles are always bounding (usually running like heck from someone who wants to eat him for lunch!) so I like the leggy goofy look of this guy.

He fits in more with the stringy limbs of my horses and pigs and stuff, and I like the lightning bolt stripe and the less anatomical feel.

As for the rhinoceros, well I did maybe 10 drawings that I didn’t like of that. The one I circled is the one I like (why’s it always the tiniest one?)

That middle one looked too camel-liek and the bottom one the hump didn’t feel integrated enough or funny enough. On the good one,

it just grows right out of the back of his head like it’s natural.

Here’s a doodle of  a yak:

yak gazelle rhinos gazelle hippo gorilla animals fun funny kids art animation childrens licensing George Berlin

I guess when I go to the zoo, there’s only so many classes of animals for me. Monkeys, elephants, stuff with horns that runs real fast (gazelles, etc), seals, penguins, and big hairy smelly

animals in that far out ‘savannah’ section of the zoo. Like the yak! And buffaloes, too.

Okay, so maybe I watched too much of whatever that big horned hairy animal was that the Jawas or somebody rode around on in Star Wars…

Next time- more zoo animals!

Leave a Reply

 
