George Berlin’s Art Blog

Delving into the mind of one of those weird artist people

More licensing stuff…

Posted by eyeofthehurricane99 on July 28, 2010

So, back to licensing!

I’m a busy cat, right? Been working on my next book “Ways to Get Around” with Mike Venezia.

And developing some new licensing stuff!

Like this:

cowboys art animation licensing funny kids childrens illustrator George Berlin cactus horse shoe

I met up with my pal Molly Z the super fabulous illustrator extraordinaire yesterday and we talked about some of these collections I’ll be showing you. She suggested maybe a guitar or banjo (building on the musical cowboy theme started by the harmonica) and adding different types of cactus for design. Very good ideas!

This will be in color, of course but I’m doing some preliminary gathering of images so I can talk to my licensing consultant Jeanette Smith shortly…

I should probably throw in a cowboy, too I guess. It is in the name…

She helped add some ‘designer-y’ insight that I may not have thought of- check her stuff out… it’s awesome!

Onto more! Yaar!

pirates sword eye patch art animation licensing funny kids childrens illustrator George Berlin parrot treasure

This one- another good suggestion from Molly! More pirates- I have to agree, some of the ‘accessories’ aren’t as fun or endearing as the pirate and his

bird. More people, less stuff. Kids can identify with the characters more. The map’s good and simple, though. I’ll probably keep everything in this image.

I have more accessories in this next one- might cut or re-design some of them:

pirates sword eye patch art animation licensing funny kids childrens illustrator George Berlin parrot treasure

The booty could be simpler, it seems. I still like the cannon, but I’m a bit weird. The ship will stay as it is, I’m sure.

I’m also going to run all of this by my licensing consultant in mid-August before final spiffing up.

I’ll show it to you all again then. I’ve got about 10 or more collections like this to fix up in the next 2 weeks- dogs, rocker chicks, sailing, sea critters, etc etc

so I’ll be a busy boy.

More tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

 
