George Berlin’s Art Blog

Delving into the mind of one of those weird artist people

Layout on my new book!

Posted by eyeofthehurricane99 on April 29, 2011

So, I’ve shown you some sketches (and the paintings they turned into) here and here

How about a little on how I did the book layout?

Here’s an early page layout I did…

And here’s a more final page layout for the same page with a few extra paintings added, too:

Originally, we thought of doing just simple white pages with a little border of fun cars and planes and stuff around them

but it just wasn’t snappy enough! So Mike asked me to put some color in the border, and I got to thinking about

making the drawings in the border a darker shade of the same color too!

And then I thought- hey, we can put some fun related words in the background in a similar color that would be cool

for kids to find, too! Then it really looked great! We wrote pages and pages of just the words that go in the background.

I also shrunk down the images on a lot of the pages so it was  a bunch of paintings instead of just 1 or 2 each page.

Here’s a few of the border drawings that we put into the book, too!

Most of these are drawn at maybe 4 inches high- in the book they’re shrunk down to just a 1/4 of an inch! Click the picture to see them bigger-

they’re some really great drawings that you can’t see this big in the book! Also, see the construction digger with the arrow pointing to it?

I asked Mike to draw something that could go around a corner in the border and he came up with that- great thinking, right?

I had to do some Photoshop magic to put these drawings in colors matching the borders. My personal favorite touch?

The dinosaur bus that is in the lower right corner of every page with his head popping up out of the border!

Next time, more sketches and paintings!

4 Responses to “Layout on my new book!”

  1. Carol Backe said

    Hey George,
    Love your drawings — whimsical and completely charming. Keep up the great work.
    Carol

    • eyeofthehurricane99 said

      Thanks Carol- I just found one of your ‘Bean and Franks’ cards the other day!

      C’mon out to my art show/music gig Friday night at the Flat Iron 8 pm!

  2. […] Comments eyeofthehurricane99 on Layout on my new book!Carol Backe on Layout on my new book!Layout on my new boo… on More about my […]

  3. […] Comments Digital book layout … on Layout on my new book!eyeofthehurricane99 on Layout on my new book!Carol Backe on Layout on my new book!Layout […]

Leave a Reply

 
