George Berlin’s Art Blog

Delving into the mind of one of those weird artist people

Digital book layout cont’d

Posted by eyeofthehurricane99 on May 2, 2011

Last time, I showed you a little about laying out the pages of my latest book “Ways to Get Around”

So, I wanted to show you how a specific page was put together- this one’s special because it’s not

just one painting like all the others!

This one’s a whole bunch of paintings (by two different people)

put together onto a separate background. Here’s some of the sketches for it first:

Mind you, the guy on the camel and the stretch limo aren’t part of this page… This is from my sketchbook, since I do my

best work on the couch or waiting in line for stuff.

The idea was to have 4 pages of the book that you turn sideways, so we could show the ways to get around in the water from

boats etc on the surface down to fish swimming and all the way down to the bottom of the sea!

So I did some digital layouts  like so (click to see it huge!):

The paintings are just scanned in and roughly cut-out so I can see where they’re going to go.

This was during the second phase of the book- I had made my paintings and had some of Mike’s and I was laying things out to see how they’d work.

I sent this to Mike with notes about where his new parts would go, as we’d discussed them. You can see some of the sketches from earlier painted up and put in.

Once I got more art from Mike (and did a little more cutting out and re-arranging myself) it was time to put it all together- here’s the finished pages (click for huge!):

One thing I’m rather proud of is the background- the water and the sea bottom are actually the same painting:

The left painting is for the first page, and the right is for the second page -plus I tweaked the tones and shortened it a bit to make the sea bottom!

Voila! You have 4 pages of a kiddie book!!

Enjoy, and I’d love your comments on it!

One Response to “Digital book layout cont’d”

  1. […] Comments Digital book layout … on Layout on my new book!eyeofthehurricane99 on Layout on my new book!Carol Backe on […]

Leave a Reply

 
