George Berlin’s Art Blog

Delving into the mind of one of those weird artist people

Archive for March 23rd, 2009

A superhero dog commission (Done!)

Posted by eyeofthehurricane99 on March 23, 2009

I showed the sketches for this finished painting right here…

Now, the finished product!

Superhero dog painting commission George Berlin art animation pets

I’m really happy with this! I like how the buildings came out… especially the Chrysler building. I got a real appreciation for how awesomely designed that building is by doing this.

(on a side note, it’s a good thing I took this picture- I noticed from looking at it that I forgot to outline the upper left window on the Chrysler building…oops.)

This went a bit quicker than the last one. Y’see, the last one I painted all the stuff (lettering included) and then went, oh gee… I have to paint the canvas grey all over to simulate the newspaper look. Dern!

So what that meant was… driving myself mad painting around all the little nooks and crannies of the lettering. Argh!

Then I’d run out of paint, mix up some more and it wouldn’t quite match perfectly.

This one, well, I grew a brain and painted the background first. Duh.

How recent is this posted after finishing it? Well, I have some things to do shortly (including taking this piece to get framed) and I’m basically killing some time by photographing and posting this so the ink can dry and I can take it with me…

So very recent. I also tried something new on this piece. I usually do my inking with a Chinese white sable- today I chopped the end off it!

Works much better. I tend to get a bit sloppy with too long of a brush, as the tip gets hard to control sometimes. This length worked out just great, thank you.

I really like that tall square building in the middle- it’s got kind of a ‘painted comics’ look to the lighting and brushwork.

Good stuff!

See you next time!

Posted in Art in Progress, Commercial Work, Finished Art, Superheroes | Leave a Comment »